Listen up, bacon lovers!!

22 Oct

As you walk down the jam/condiment aisle at your local Loblaws, you glance up and down the rows for something that will spice up your boring, bland food. You do a double take when you see those two glorious words that you never would have imagined to be on the same label…“BACON JAM”.

 

+

                           = ???

That’s right! Recently, my friend showed me an article that was posted on The Star website informing readers about this intriguing new product. Although many people will simply refer to it as “Bacon Jam”, the original product launched by Skillet Street Food is actually named “Bacon Spread” due to the restrictions of American and Canadian labeling laws. Apparently a product labeled as “jam” needs to have fruit in it. Who would have thought?? This spread can be used in pretty much any dish ranging from cauliflower or potatoes to burgers or ribs and even in desserts if you’d like. Be adventurous and make some bacon cookies or top a cupcake with a dollop of Bacon Spread!   

Skillet's Bacon Spread

After Skillet Street Food came up with this Bacon Spread, Loblaws product developers came out with something similar but their version is called Bacon Marmalade and is part of their PC black label line of gourmet foods. Although this product is not as….bacon-y (is that a word??!) as the Skillet Street Food version, it is definitely more wallet-friendly ($19.99 for 300g versus $4.99 for 370ml)!! This mouth-watering marmalade incorporates the citrus flavor of orange and has a sweeter taste to it whereas the Bacon Spread is likely a more indulgent, savory flavor. For those of you who want to know how to get your hands on these items, good news. The PC brand Bacon Marmalade is supposed to hit shelves mid-October at select Loblaws stores. I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’m definitely going to be checking soon to see if they have it at my local Loblaws!

PC Bacon Marmalade

As for the Bacon Spread by Skillet Street Food, it is available for purchase at select food stores as well as online. For those of you who may be interested, you can visit their website for more information: http://www.skilletstreetfood.com/

It’s fascinating to me how much people love bacon and how it is constantly being incorporated into food in new ways that we’ve never seen before. Some bacon-fanatics may call me crazy but I have to say personally, bacon is not on my list of top favorite foods! I see it more as an indulgent once-in-a-while food where I can only eat a couple pieces of before I get sick of it. I think it may be the fact that a strip of bacon virtually consists of 30% meat and 70% fat; visually seeing that on my plate and knowing how much fat I would be consuming makes it unappealing to me. Am I crazy or do other people feel this way too? Perhaps I will try turkey bacon as a low-fat alternative to get my fix of that tasty smokey flavor that bacon so famously offers!

 Below is a recipe found on Skillet Street Food’s website that uses their Bacon Spread. I found it to be an interesting blend of ingredients and I would imagine that the sweet and savoury flavors would mix well together for a breakfast that will be sure to wake you up (you might want to ease up on the butter and coffee syrup though to cut some calories and still have a tasty treat! I don’t think 1 whole stick of butter indicated in the recipe is really necessary… :)).

 

Pain Perdu (French Toast) with Bacon Jam with Chicory Coffee Syrup

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Submitted by David Bridges
Serves: 4

Ingredients

1.5 cups Louisiana cane syrup
1 cup Chicory coffee (strong)
3 eggs
1/4 cup milk
8 slices of French bread (thick cut)
1 stick unsalted butter
1/2 cup spiced pecans
Bourbon to taste

Instructions

To make the syrup, bring the Louisiana cane syrup and chicory coffee to a simmer and reduce by half in a small pot for 10-12 minutes. Let cool and it will thicken on its own.

To finish the dish, whisk the eggs with the milk and bourbon. Generously spread some bacon jam onto one piece of bread. Place another piece of bread on top entrapping the jam. Place the stuffed pain perdue into the egg mixture allowing it to soak in. Put a cast iron or non-stick skillet over medium heat and place a common sense worth’s pat of butter into the skillet. Cook the Pain Perdu until it is wonderfully brown on both sides and warmed all the way through. If you tend to cut the bread very thick you might want to continue the heating in the oven. Place the Pain Perdu onto a plate and shower it with complements of syrup and spiced pecans. Don’t make the mistake of dusting with powdered sugar. That’s just uncalled for and too messy for the mid-morning.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

References:

Article: http://www.thestar.com/living/food/article/1058762–bacon-jam-arrives-in-toronto

Bacon photo: http://www.worldofstock.com/stock_photos/PFO6512.php

Jam photo: http://bodytreats.wordpress.com/2008/04/08/the-healthier-unhealthy-food-part-5/

Bacon Spread photo: http://ahensnest.com/2010/12/skillet-bacon-jam-bacon-spread-review.html

Bacon Marmalade photo: http://www.thestar.com/living/food/article/1058368—loblaws-throws-parkdale-bash-for-new-gourmet-products

Recipe & photo: http://skilletstreetfood.com/recipes.php?id=83

7 Responses to “Listen up, bacon lovers!!”

  1. greatfoodfastforstudents October 23, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    Have you looked into any of the new chocolate-bacon combinations (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chocolate-covered_bacon)? I don’t eat bacon myself personally, however the new uses of bacon have definitely caught my attention. I can certainly understand the desire to combine sweets flavours with the saltiness of bacon since as a child I had a tendency to dunk my bacon in maple syrup! (They were both conveniently on my plate!)

    • fcheung13 October 27, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      I have heard of chocolate-covered bacon as well! Although I haven’t been brave enough to try it yet haha

  2. Susanne Wong October 23, 2011 at 1:01 am #

    My thoughts exactly, I am not much of a bacon fan but the idea of having bacon as a spread does intrigue me.

  3. ~ Recipe Ratings ~ October 30, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    This looks quite interesting!! I may have to go out and actually try that marmalade if its only 5 dollars! Any ideas on what to put it on? I’m kind of the same way as you though- can’t justify the 30/70 ratio of meat to fat. Just thinking about it turns me off of bacon quite quickly!
    Neat idea though! The whole blog is quite orginal!

    Katie Neil

  4. Lillian Lau November 1, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    This product is something I will definitely try 🙂 It is so convient too!

  5. ihavethisdream November 4, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Hi Fiona, you seem quite adventuresome in your food. I like to try things as well, but am pretty conservative in what I will try. It is interesting to read about what others find, though.

  6. nicjack09 November 9, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    This sounds super interesting, as I am an avid bacon lover I might just have to try this. I also have some (male) friends who I think have a bit of an unhealthy love for bacon but maybe if they could spread some bacon marmalade on their toast in the morning it would stop them from eating actual bacon so much. I will have to tell them about this!
    Also great topic for your blog!

    Nicola Jackson

Leave a Reply

